Boston Marathon 2018 U.S. Elite Fields Announced

The American men and women elite fields for the 2018 Boston Marathon were announced today.

Get access to everything we publish when you sign up for Outside+.

Jordan Hasay at the 2017 Boston Marathon.

Boston Marathon sponsor John Hancock announced today its United States elite field for the 2018 race, and we are so excited by the list! Not only is 2017 TCS NYC Marathon champion Shalane Flanagan running (no early retirement for her!), but 2017 third place finisher (and first American) Jordan Hasay will return, as will Desiree Linden, who finished fourth behind Hasay in 2017. Here are the elite fields for American women and men (and their marathon PBs) as they currently stand:

2018 Boston Marathon: Elite Women*

  • Deena Kastor (2:19:36)
  • Jordan Hasay (2:20:57)
  • Shalane Flanagan (2:21:14)
  • Desiree Linden (2:22:38)
  • Serena Burla (2:26:53)
  • Molly Huddle (2:28:13)
  • Kellyn Taylor (2:28:40)

*Sara Hall was originally included on this list but dropped out of the race in early April due to injury.

2018 Boston Marathon: Elite Men

  • Dathan Ritzenhein (2:07:47)
  • Abdi Abdirahman (2:08:56)
  • Galen Rupp (2:09:20)
  • Ryan Vail (2:10:57)
  • Shadrack Biwott (2:12:01)
  • Scott Smith (2:12:21)
  • Andrew Bumbalough (2:13:58)

The 2018 Boston Marathon will take place on Monday, April 16. Women’s Running will be reporting on the ground in Boston, Mass. during the race, so stay tuned for our pre-race coverage and post-race interviews and recaps!


Hey, 2018 Boston Marathon Runners–The Expo Is Moving

It Was The Jordan Hasay Debut Show At The Boston Marathon

Race Recap: Shalane Flanagan Wins The 2017 TCS NYC Marathon