Elite USA Team for Boston Marathon Announced

Take a look at who will be on the starting line on April 20th.

Credit: Photo Run
Credit: Photo Run

Shalane Flanagan and defending champion Meb Keflezighi headline the elite US squad of runners for the 2015 Boston Marathon.

Last year, Flanagan finished 7th, running the fastest time ever by an American woman (2:22:02). She is also a native of nearby Marblehead, Massachusetts, making Boston a homecoming race that is dear to her heart.

Keflezighi led almost the entire time on his way to an inspirational 2014 victory in the race. In a press release through the Boston Athletic Association, Keflezighi stated that “My win at the 2014 Boston Marathon will always be the most significant victory of my career. But I still aspire to get the best out of  myself…”

Joining Flanagan and Keflezighi are Desiree Davila Linden, Amy Hastings, Dathan Ritzenhein, Nick Arciniaga, Jeffrey Eggleston, and Fernando Cabada.

Linden also ran Boston in 2014, finishing 10th in 2:23:54. She was the second fastest American woman finisher. She also finished as the top American at the New York City Marathon. Hastings finished 5th at the Chicago Marathon, running 2:27:03.

The 119th Boston Marathon will be run on Monday, April 20th.