The American Pros Racing Boston In 2019

The Boston Athletic Association has announced the list of women and men who will race as part of the 2019 Boston Marathon U.S. elite team.

2019 Boston Marathon’s Elite American Teams

Last week, the Boston Athletic Association announced that all four of its reigning champions (Desiree Linden, Yuki Kawauchi, Tatyana McFadden and Marcel Hug) will return to defend their titles at the Boston Marathon on April 15, 2019. In an update to the elite performer list, the BAA announced today the full American pro rosters for women and men, a list that includes Jordan Hasay (who withdrew from the 2018 Boston Marathon the night before the race due to a lingering injury), 2018 Chicago Marathon sixth-place finisher Sarah Crouch, 2017 USATF Marathon Championships winner Sara Hall and surprise 2018 Boston Marathon runner-up Sarah Sellers. In the women’s wheelchair division, defending champion McFadden will return to compete against five other professional American women, as well as a forthcoming list of international competitors.

Defending champion Desiree Linden during the 2018 Boston Marathon. Photo by James Kirkikis /

American Women

  • Sarah Crouch
  • Lindsay Flanagan
  • Sara Hall
  • Jordan Hasay
  • Desiree Linden (defending champion)
  • Sarah Sellers
  • Becky Wade

American Men

  • Abdi Abdirahman
  • Shadrack Biwott
  • Aaron Braun
  • Jeffrey Eggleston
  • Scott Fauble
  • Elkanah Kibet
  • Timothy Ritchie
  • Dathan Ritzenhein
  • Brian Shrader
  • Jared Ward

American Women – Push Rim Wheelchair

  • Katrina Gerhard
  • Tatyana McFadden (defending champion)
  • Amanda McGrory
  • Arielle Rausin
  • Susannah Scaroni
  • Michelle Wheeler

American Men – Push Rim Wheelchair

  • Joshua George
  • Aaron Pike
  • Daniel Romanchuk
  • Krige Schabort
  • James Senbeta
  • Brian Siemann

Stay tuned in the months ahead as Women’s Running delivers updates on the 2019 Boston Marathon field, interviews with registered athletes and previews on what to expect on race day by visiting our News page.