Press enter to search
x Close

Shalane Flanagan Wins NYC Marathon

Shalane Flanagan became the first American woman in 40 years to win the TCS New York City Marathon, finishing with an unofficial time of 2:26:53.

Mary Keitany, the three-time New York City champion from Kenya, began the race today to defend her title and came in one minute and one second behind Flanagan to secure second place. Mamitu Daska of Ethiopia came in third.

The last American woman to win the NYC Marathon was Miki Gorman, a two-time consecutive winner who last broke the finish line tape in 1977.

The top 10 finishers of the marathon’s professional women’s field are as follows:

  1. Shalane Flanagan (2:26:53)
  2. Mary Keitany (2:27:54)
  3. Mamitu Daska (2:28:08)
  4. Edna Kiplagat (2:29:36)
  5. Allie Kieffer (2:29:39)
  6. Sara Dossena (2:29:39)
  7. Eva Vrabcova (2:29:41)
  8. Kellyn Taylor (2:29:56)
  9. Diane Nukuri (2:31:21)
  10. Stephanie Bruce (2:31:44)

This story is developing. Stay tuned as Team WR delivers additional race results throughout the day.

Team WR

Team WR

Team WR represents the Women's Running staff and community behind the magazine and The team was created in July 2014 when Women's Running underwent its first re-design since it debuted in 2009. Collectively, Team WR has run everything, from marathon, to half, to novelty runs, to ultras, to 10K and 5K races, to obstacle events, to triathlons.